This is one of the homes you hoped would come on the market and it finally has! 22 Cross Street hits a heritage home run, with a harmonious blend of both Georgian and Neo-classic architecture.
The main door architrave, outside basement entrance and many interior details are Georgian. The small scale and low-pitched roof with return eaves is Neo-Classical.
|ADVERTISEMENT: CLICK TO LEARN MORE!|
The 1840 house, the nineteenth century brick barn (carriage house), and the later garden wall form an attractive complex of domestic architecture.*
View full listing HERE
Contact Phillip Reenie of Judy Marsales Real Estate Ltd.
Photos by Tom Vogel, www.vogel-creative.com
- Built by the Platt Nash family in the 1840s (a Dundas hat and glove manufacturer)
- The Nash family owned for 23 years
- Also long-term ownership of two other Dundas families: The William Proctor family owned for 27 years & 50 years in the possession of Richard Thornton and family
- At the rear is a brick wing added after the construction of the house, but before 1851
- Behind the house is a red brick carriage house, the interior of which bears charrings from the fire of 1851 that destroyed the north side of King Street, east of the Collins Hotel
Designated under the Ontario Heritage Act. Architectural Significance:
- Outstanding example of a late Georgian townhouse
- Rectangular centre hall plan
- Smooth, symmetrical, unadomed facade of three bays
- Flemish bond brickwork and stone base
- Unique to Dundas: Umbrage/Porch created by the deep recess of the centrally located classical doorway
*Hamilton's Heritage, Volume 5